Why Confess?

Now there are three sorts of confession I particularly wish to write about. There could be more, which I am blatantly not aware of.Also, let me add that all the three sorts of don’t make sense to me. And honestly, I don’t see why they ever would. 

The first sort would be the typical catholic confession. An individual goes up to the priest who himself is seated behind a curtain, hiding away. The priest or and other dude from the church expects you to chant a few prayers, state your sins after which he mumbles a set of prayers himself and claims you to be forgiven.

The second is the kind where you commit a mistake against someone and you feel so guilty that you go to that respective person and confess your actions.

The third, and the most modern and ridiculous is the latest fad of the confession fad over on Facebook  where one either insults someone in secrecy or expresses his or her love to someone else.

And here is why it doesn’t make sense to me. How does anyone expect me to be honest and open to a Priest hiding behind a closure himself, when I cannot be the same even with a friend whom ‘I’m supposed’ to trust? Do the prayers even make sense, or are just random lines that are mandatory to get done with the process?

I agree that sins are bad but yet, I committed them and that alone leaves an impression on me. Everything I do, good or bad, has contributed to who I am today. That does not mean I can simply tell away my errors to someone, no matter how bad they are.

At times, the things we do are so meaningless. And by talking about it to someone,you can ruin your relationship with them. Yes, you can term them to be sins and wrong deeds, but does it really matter? Call me cold-hearted and conscienceless, but I dont really feel any pang of guilt when I choose to let something go when opposed to the cost of ruining something that I cherish. Instead I would focus on not committing the same blunder again and work my best towards damage control.

And lastly, the confession pages over at Facebook  Really now? Is that what our insecurities has led us to; not facing facts and dealing them in the most inhuman

Com'on! Grow a pair!

Com’on! Grow a pair!

way possible? We’ve successfully succumbed to the internet and are dependent on it for things as little as disclosing our interests. What is worse is that people have taken to virtually-verbally abusing ridiculing others over the social network. It is simply pathetic. As if, bullying wasn’t extravagant already.

This is me, I am sure you don’t agree with me on a lot of points here. I appreciate it and would love to hear you out. Do comment of leave me a mail at shaundsouza93@gmail.com

Have a good weekend otherwise.

– S

 

Leave a Reply

